Weer Webcams

Castle ruin of Montechiaro

The ruins of Lichtenberg Castle are perched high above the town of Montechiaro/Lichtenberg near Prato/Prad at the Passo dello Stelvio/ Stilfserjoch Pass. The castle has a rich history of Minnesang, a courtly tradition of lyric and song that was popular in the Middle Ages.

The Count of Tyrol held the enlarged castle up until 1513; the Counts of Khuen-Belasi subsequently took it over, and still own it today. The castle’s tradition of minstrelsy is still visible in the fragments and traces of once-sumptuous fresco decoration leftover from the heyday of the courts. Most of the fresco cycle was removed in 1912, and was transferred to the Ferdinandeum Museum in Innsbruck.

Was de inhoud nuttig voor u?
Hartelijk dank voor uw feedback!
Dank u!